The state of Texas takes driving while intoxicated (DWI) seriously. Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) determines intoxication levels when operating a motor vehicle in Texas. In most cases legal action is cited as a criminal offense. As the noted offender you need to hire an attorney as soon as possible. The reason is to ensure all hearing or court dates are met pertaining to the offense. You have the right to challenge and an experience attorney is your first defense.
Let’s begin with understanding the law first. According to Texas law it is illegal to operate a vehicle in a public place under the influence. The influencers are alcohol, drugs or other controlled substances. Alcohol concentrations of 0.08 or higher can interfere with normal mental or physical functions. One administrative penalty involves your vehicle license. In the state of Texas if you refuse the breath or blood test the license suspension could be two years. Texas allows an Administrative License Revocation hearing. But the law will not appoint a court attorney for you. It’s in your best interest to hire your own attorney to represent your case.
It gets worse when there are passengers in the vehicle under the age of 15, which is considered to be a child. Endangering the life of a child is a felony crime in Dallas, Texas. The first or second DWI may be cited as a misdemeanor depending on the conditions. The third or higher DWI becomes a felony in the state of Texas. Misdemeanor penalties range from $2,000 to $4,000 with jail time and license suspension. Felony conviction penalties can start at $10,000 with prison up to 10 years. Both have a surcharge of $1000 to $1,500 to be paid annually for a specified time.
Your best strategy is an experienced Dallas, Texas attorney. They may be able to reduce the charges to a lesser offense before trial.
Types of DWI
There are three circumstances where a DWI charges may occur. The Texas DWI laws apply to road and water vehicles. In any situation involving DWI conditions, there are serious consequences for the offender. Getting all of the information about the incident to the attorney can help to build a stronger defense for you.
A police officer may stop your vehicle during daily routines. In most cases, officers have been trained to observe irregular driving behaviors. If there is reasonable cause to pull you over, you must stop. If the officer confirms intoxication an arrest will be made. Your first call should be to a Dallas, Texas attorney. An experienced attorney knows the proper procedures for these types of traffic stops. The details of the officer’s actions are critical to protecting your rights.
During an accident our emotions are all over the place. If you’re involved or arrested on a DWI issue try to keep an account of the details for your attorney. Charges become more severe with damages and injuries caused by an intoxicated driver occur. If the injuries are not serious, your attorney may be able to reduce the charges. The most serious condition during an accident is the cause of death. The charges could result in manslaughter. This is why your attorney needs to know the circumstances of the traffic accident.
Dallas, Texas has a Zero Tolerance Law for minors and alcohol. If the intoxicated driver is under the age of 21, its illegal no matter what. Minors having any form of DWI issues are subject to penalties. Drivers over the age of 21 are subject to DWI penalties according to the offense number. Other circumstances include under age passengers or life threatening injuries. You can expect to pay fines, court costs and legal fees.