hootonLogo

214-761-8827

hootonLogo
Former Assistant District Attorney | Former Judge
Call Today:
214-761-8827

googleplusimage facebookicon twittericon linkedinIcon emailicon
Icon
Fighting DWI s' 40 Years
We have the experience it takes to help you with your case.

Icon
Former Judge
Tom Hooton knows how they convict you and how to fight them.

Icon
Get Started Today
Tom understand how prosecutors think. Have him use his experience in your case.

Understanding DWI Probation
Probation is a pact between a DWI offender and the judge. In this arrangement, the judge fails to sentence the offender to jail and in exchange the offender is required to perform certain things for a set period of time. The fixed period of time for this arrangement is called the probationary term or period. First time offenders can get a probationary term of up to 2 years. In many cases, the judge suspends the complete jail sentence for persons with no prior violations and places the offender under a six month probation period. During probation, a DWI offender is supposed to abide by the following conditions:

Report to a probation officer
Perform community service (for between 24 and 80 hours)
Enroll in a Victim Impact Panel
Enroll in a DWI Education class
Undergo an alcohol and drug evaluation
Take a random urinalysis
Pay court costs, monthly probation charges, and fines
Get a job and support one’s dependents
Apart from the things you are required to do while under probation, there are things you are not supposed to do. These include:

Visiting clubs, lounges, and bars
Violating the law
Taking drugs or drinking alcohol
Socializing with people of questionable ethics
Committing crimes or socializing with criminals
For someone facing a second DWI conviction, the chances of getting their entire jail sentence scrapped are minimal. The offender may face a 72 hour jail term. The judge could suspend the rest of the jail sentence and place the offender on probation.

A third DWI charge is a felony and in this case, one is required to spend at least 10 days in confinement. After serving this minimum jail sentence, one may get a probation sentence.

If you are placed under probation for intoxication manslaughter you may be asked to serve a community service of between 240 to 800 hours and a minimum jail term of 120 days. You may also be required to enroll in alcohol/substance abuse programs. For intoxication assault probation, you are required to serve a minimum jail sentence of 30 days, community service, and enroll in an alcohol/drug abuse program.




CONTACT ME

We Can Help.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

Let us provide you with the excellent legal protection we have honed for many years.
Fill out the Form to contact us.

WHY HIRE ME?

check Superior Achievement Award - Texas DWI Lawyers

check Founding Member of Texas DWI Lawyers

check Top 3 DWI Lawyers - ACS Lawyer

check Former Judge

check Over 40 Years of Criminal Law Experience

check Co-Counsel in Writing a Traffic Law Manual



© 2016 DfwDwiLawyer.com | The Law Offices of Tom Hooton
© 2016 DfwDwiLawyer.com | The Law Offices of Tom Hooton