Anytime you’re charged with a crime there are penalties involved. The first DWI you’re charged with in Texas results in a misdemeanor charge. This is true for the first three DWIs you are charged with and convicted of, but the fourth becomes a criminal offense and a felony charge. If you’re in the process of learning what your DWI might mean in terms of penalties, you must know what affects your sentence as well as what you can expect.
Jail time could last anywhere from three days to two years depending on the outcome of your case. A first offense is only 3 days, and it gets longer from there. Fines are issued by a judge, and they can range anywhere from nothing to $2,000 depending on what happens during the case. License suspension is automatic if you refuse to take a breath or blood test to show your alcohol level when pulled over. If you don’t take the tests, you’re going to lose your license for 180-days. This goes to two years if you’ve refused once or twice before.
Treatment is an alternative form of punishment for many drivers charged with DWI, and it must be completed in a specific amount of time for a driver to successfully complete the demands of his or her punishment. Anyone younger than 21 is automatically going to be charged with a DWI no matter what their blood alcohol level states. Even if it’s below the legal limit of .08%, Texas has a zero tolerance policy for anyone under 21 being charged with a DWI.
To help minimize the risk of punishment, calling a DWI lawyer in Texas is your best option. We have ample experience helping reduce sentences for those who’ve been charged with a crime in Texas.