DWI Penalties for Adults
Penalties for driving while intoxicated in Texas depend on various factors. The most relevant factors are your blood alcohol content during your arrest, and previous offenses. The following is a breakdown of the penalties imposed when one is accused of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs:
1st DWI Offense- A first offender may get a fine of up to $2,000 and serve a jail term of between 3 and 180 days. Additionally, you may face a license suspension of up to 2 years. You may get an annual surcharge of up to $2,000 to maintain your license for 3 years. You may also need to fit an ignition interlock device on your vehicle and enroll in a DWI education or intervention program
2nd DWI Offense- A second offense may result in a maximum fine of $4,000 and a jail term of between one month and one year. A license suspension for a second DWI offense can last for two years. You may also face a 3 year annual surcharge of $2,000. Additionally, you may be asked to install your vehicle with an ignition interlock device and attend a DWI education or intervention program.
3rd DWI Offense- A third DWI offense in Texas can result in a maximum fine of $10,000. Additionally, offenders may face a jail term of 2-10 years and a maximum license suspension of 2 years. You may also face a 3 year annual surcharge of $2,000. Additionally, you may be required to fix an ignition interlock device in your car and attend a DWI education and intervention program.