DWI Crimes and Injury to Others
When you are arrested and charged with a DWI, it’s far better to have not caused any harm or injury to anyone else. The penalties are lesser if you are able to prove you did not harm or cause injury to anyone else while intoxicated. Texas law focuses on three specific crimes and injury to others pertaining to DWI.
DWI with a child younger than 15 in the vehicle with you is one of the most concerning aspects of a DWI arrest. This is a form of endangerment of a child, and it’s handled firmly in a court of law. If you are accused and convicted of this crime, you are going to pay fines up to $10,000. You will also be sentenced to spend anywhere from six months to two years of your life in a local jail, and you could see your license suspended for three months to two years.
The other problem is intoxication manslaughter. It’s a second-degree felony, and it might occur if you are involved in an accident that kills someone. If you are, you can be fined as much as $10,000 and spend as many as 10 years in jail for the crime you committed. This also includes a mandatory license suspension ranging anywhere from six months to two years.
Intoxication Assault is a third-degree felony. It occurs when someone is injured in an altercation or fight while you are drunk or high. This crime has the same penalties as intoxication manslaughter in Texas, but it’s considered a different degree felony.