What is a DWI According to Texas Law?
DWI stands for driving while intoxicated which is illegal in the U.S. Each state in the U.S. has specific laws that define DWIs and its legal penalties. The DWI laws in Texas are covered in the Texas Penal Code Title 10, Chapter 49. According to the statute, there are two distinct definitions of intoxicated:
Losing the normal function of your physical and mental faculties owing to the consumption of alcohol or drugs
A blood alcohol content (BAC) reading of .08 percent and above
For certain drivers, the BAC limit is below .08 percent. For example, minors are not allowed to drive if they have any trace of alcohol in their blood. On the other hand, commercial drivers are prohibited from driving with a BAC reading above .04.