What is driving while intoxicated under Texas law?
No state allows drivers to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs in a legal capacity. Anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08 percent or higher is considered above the legal limit in all states, and Texas is no exception to this rule. Texas law clearly defines driving while intoxicated as driving while drunk or high on drugs, and it doesn’t matter how old you are if you are caught driving while intoxicated. If you are arrested for a DWI, you can plead guilty, not guilty, or no contest, but you should say nothing to anyone until you speak to your attorney.
If you are not yet 21-years-old and you are caught driving while intoxicated, the legal limit is pushed from .08 percent to any percent. You needn’t be over the legal limit to end up with a DWI and an arrest since you’re not old enough to legally drink. If you are a commercial driver, the legal limit is only .04 percent in Texas. If you are caught driving while intoxicated, you are arrested and charged with a DWI. The penalties are serious. Jail time, fines, and a suspended license are just a few of the most serious penalties you face when you are arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated in Texas.
What happens once you’re arrested depends on many factors. The charges you face are not necessarily the same as someone else arrested and charged with the same crime. Age, past criminal history, and other factors play a large role in the conviction process. If you have an attorney to represent you, it’s imperative you call immediately to have your case reviewed and your defense handled appropriately.