When you’re arrested and charged with a DWI in the State of Texas, your license is automatically suspended. The length of time in which your license is suspended depends on the specifics of your case, but it’s often anywhere from 3 to 24 months for anyone who fails and/or refuses to take a breathalyzer test or blood test following their traffic stop. If your license is suspended, Texas law does allow you the opportunity to contest the revocation of your license in a process called ALR.
The Administrative License Revocation program, which is commonly referred to as ALR, is a type of hearing to have a license reinstated. You can request one if your license is suspended in Texas. It must be filed within 15 days of your license being suspended. and it’s not a quick process. You may continue to drive during this time. Your official suspension does not occur until after your hearing. If you can prove your case, the suspension will not be enforced. If you cannot, you will lose your license for the specified amount of time following the outcome of the hearing. Notice of your hearing date is provided following receipt of your request.
It can take as many as 120 days for a hearing to occur, which means four months without a license. Anyone who does not submit a request for a hearing within 15 days of losing their license will be automatically denied a hearing. You will also lose your ability to drive due to your suspended license approximately 40 days after your notice is received. It’s imperative you send the notice to request an ALR right away, and be sure you can prove the case for keeping your license without suspension.