Alcohol Related Violations
There will be times when you are stopped and you are not charged with a Driving While Intoxicated offense, but you still receive an alcohol violation.
In the state of Texas you must be 21 years old to consume alcohol. If you are under 21 and you are drinking, you are breaking the law except in a few cases:
If you’re legal guardian allows you to drink alcohol on his or her private property it is not illegal as long as the property is not one that sells alcohol. You also are not breaking the law if your legal guardian allows you to drink alcohol at a restaurant or catered event.
In Texas, you face what is known as “zero tolerance.” If you under 21 years old and a blood or breath test determines that your blood alcohol content levels, known as BAC levels, are above 00.00%, then you probably will be cited for driving under the influence. This is known as a DUI and it is a Class C Misdemeanor given only to alleged offenders who are under the age of 21. Only people 21 years old and older can receive a Driving While Intoxicated charge. A DUI usually carries a fine of up to $500 and may result in a driver losing his or her license for 60 days.
If you have been cited for a DUI, you do have rights that are similar to those of someone who has been charged with a Driving While Intoxicated offense. It’s imperative that you contact legal counsel as soon as possible to help you understand what you face and the likely result in your local Texas court. What you should remember is that the fines for a DUI are less lenient than a Driving While Intoxicated Charge. However, this is because the courts are trying to teach you a valuable lesson. If you don’t stop pursuing bad behavior and making poor choices, you will lose out and face more devastating fines and a criminal record as you get older. Now is the time to take a few moments and to redirect your behavior. Change your path and use this opportunity to make the right decisions about your alcohol consumption and driving.