hootonLogo

214-686-2540

hootonLogo
Former Assistant District Attorney | Former Judge
Call Today:
214-686-2540

googleplusimage facebookicon twittericon linkedinIcon emailicon
Icon
Fighting DWI s' 40 Years
We have the experience it takes to help you with your case.

Icon
Former Judge
Tom Hooton knows how they convict you and how to fight them.

Icon
Get Started Today
Tom understand how prosecutors think. Have him use his experience in your case.

Additional DWI Crimes
Injury to Others
Texas law has defined DWI crimes that involve injury or the risk of injuring others. Some of the DWI laws involving injury to others are:

Intoxication assault
Intoxication manslaughter
DWI with a child below the age of 15 in the car

These offenses attract penalties under different statutes other than DWI law. Furthermore, there are additional offenses defined by DWI law which include injuring a peace officer, fire fighter, emergency personnel, or causing brain injury that leads to a permanent vegetative state.

Penalties for Refusing Chemical Testing

Any person operating a car is subject to the rule of “implied consent”. According to this rule, when you obtain a driver’s license, you have agreed to a chemical test in the event that a police officer has reason to suspect that you are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Because of the implied consent rule, any driver who refuses to go through a chemical test faces a license suspension. The procedure for a DWI charge is different from the one involving the refusal to get a blood test.

The Administrative License Revocation Program also known as ALR is an administrative process that is not related to DWI court proceedings. The program is designed for drivers who are arrested for a DWI and refuse or fail a breath or blood test. Drivers who refuse or fail a breath or blood test may face a license suspension of between 90 days and 2 years. Commercial drivers face a one year disqualification.

It is worth noting that you will not lose your license as soon as your refuse or fail a breath or blood test. You will have a window of 15 days to request for a hearing of your suspension. Failing to request for a hearing will lead to a 40 day automatic suspension.




CONTACT ME

We Can Help.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

Let us provide you with the excellent legal protection we have honed for many years.
Fill out the Form to contact us.

WHY HIRE ME?

check Superior Achievement Award - Texas DWI Lawyers

check Founding Member of Texas DWI Lawyers

check Top 3 DWI Lawyers - ACS Lawyer

check Former Judge

check Over 40 Years of Criminal Law Experience

check Co-Counsel in Writing a Traffic Law Manual



© 2016 DfwDwiLawyer.com | The Law Offices of Tom Hooton
© 2016 DfwDwiLawyer.com | The Law Offices of Tom Hooton